West Kirby v Marine u23 Report.

West Kirby F.C v Marine U23 F.C Report.

Haworth and Gallagher bowl Quarter Final.

Saturday 29th January 2022.

Marine progressed into the Semi Final of the Haworth and Gallagher bowl competition with a penalty shoot-out victory against West Kirby F.C.

It took both sides a little amount of time to settle into the game. However, a good competitive contest would soon be played out. 

There were plenty of good challenges placed in the opening stages of the afternoon as well as a few opportunities at either end, none testing the keepers too much.

The second half brought more of the same. However, the visitors would get a good hold of the game with twenty minutes remaining as they began to dominate possession. West Kirby’s defensive structure remained solid, starting a few counter-attacks when possible.

With the ninety being brought to an end at 0-0, there was a period of extra time to follow as the winners of the tie would be confirmed on the day. 

The hosts could have won if it wasn’t for an offside flag being raised to rule out a goal. Marine came close to scoring too as they put in a great corner, the ball failing to go further than the goal line on that occasion.

There has to be credit given to both keepers for their performances as two perfect saves were made in the shoot-out. However, for the hosts an unbeaten and resilient Marine side stood in their way of progression as the shoot-out would finish 4-3.

After the game, Captain Charlie Clewlow spoke of his side’s performance before speaking of the winners.

“Either side could have won the tie had the referee awarded a penalty for Marine in the second half for a potential handball, or allowed our disallowed goal during extra time. We can be proud of our performance today as we showed that we’ve got more than enough to compete against the top teams in the league. Good luck to Marine in the next round”.

Man of the match: Patrick Carpenter. West Kirby’s left back won multiple 1v1 duels.

West Kirby F.C team: Lewis Burrows, Robbie Williams, Adam Chwalko, Dave Hird, Dan Smith, Patrick Carpenter, Charlie Clewlow (c), Dan Lewis, Jordan Chwalko, Joe Stephenson, Sam Haley, Tila Davies, Jay Rimmer.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *